FYI Taylor County Texas

Wednesday, June 19, 2024


Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Taylor Independent School District continues building upon a wealth of accomplishments in both academics and athletics each year. The newly-built Taylor High School, located off of US 79 South, opened in the fall of 2011. Jerry Vaughn is the superintendent for Taylor ISD. Danny Ward is principal of Taylor High School and Richard Kolek is the Middle School principal. Jennifer Patschke is principal at Naomi Pasemann Elementary School. Carla Richter is principal at T.H. Johnson Elementary School. Dara Richardson is principal at Northside Elementary School.

T.H Johnson Elementary

Taylor is in University Interscholastic League District 18-3A.
Board of Trustees:
Guiding the district is the Taylor ISD Board of Trustees.
Members are Brad Moss, president; Johnny Sanford, vice president; Shorty Mitchell, secretary; Anita Volek, assistant secretary; and board members Tim Vanecek, Eliseo Elizondo and Jim Weison.

District boundaries:
Taylor ISD extends to the San Gabriel River to the north, Brushy Creek to the south, FM 619 to the east and FM 101 to the west.

Taylor ISD
Address: 602 W. Twelfth St., Taylor, TX 76574
Phone: (512) 365-1391
Fax: (512) 365-3800
Web site:
Enrollment: 3,086

Northside Elementary School
(Pre-K, Kindergarten)
Principal: Dara Richardson
Address: 1004 Dellinger St.
Phone: (512) 365-7114
Total Students: 399
Eligibility for Pre-K is 4 years old before Sept. 1, 2012, qualify for the free or reduced lunch program or be a limited English speaker and live inside Taylor ISD boundaries. The district is offering paid Pre-K on a first-come first-served basis at $300 per month on a space available basis. Eligibility for Kindergarten is 5 years old before Sept. 1, 2012 and live within Taylor ISD boundaries. For further information, please contact the Northside Early Childhood Office at (512) 365-7114.

Naomi Pasemann Elementary
(Grades 1-2)
Principal: Jennifer Patschke
Address: 2809 North Dr.
Phone: (512) 365-2278
Fax: (512) 365-2280
Total Students: 457
Student/Teacher Ratio: 22:1

T.H. Johnson Elementary
(Grades 3-5)
Principal: Carla Richter
Address: 3100 Duck Dr.
Phone: (512) 365-1091
Fax: (512) 365-8533
Total Students: 688
Student/Teacher Ratio: 21:1

Taylor Middle SchoolTaylor Middle School
(Grades 6-8)
Principal: Richard Kolek
Address: 304 Carlos Parker Blvd.
Phone: (512) 352-2815
Fax: (512) 365-8589
Total Students: 646
Student/Teacher Ratio: 20:1

Taylor High School
(Grades 9-12)
UIL District: 18-3A
Principal: Danny Ward
Address: 355 FM 973
Phone: (512) 352-6326
Fax: (512) 365-1351
Total Students: 879
New Taylor High School Student/Teacher Ratio: 18:1

Private Schools

St. Mary’s Catholic School
St. Mary’s Catholic School provides a Catholic education for students in grades Pre-K through eighth.
Address: 520 Washburn St.
Phone: (512) 352-2313 or (512) 365-1431
St. Mary’s was founded in 1896 by five Dominican Sisters and has been serving children of all faiths from Taylor and the surrounding area. St. Mary’s offers instruction in religion, core academics, music, art, foreign languages, physical education and computer technology and offers two high school credits for eighth-grade students.

The school is accredited by the Texas Catholic Conference Education Department.
Dr. Barbara Gibson is principal.

St. Paul Lutheran School
St. Paul Lutheran School of Taylor provides a religious, non-Catholic education to students in grades Pre-K through 5.
Address: 610 Fowzer St.
Phone: (512) 365-6161 or (512) 352-2773
St. Paul Elementary School opened in 1967 with a Kindergarten program. Pre-K classes were added in 1975 and the program was expanded during the 1980s with the addition of a grade a year until 1986. The school offers a variety of programs including language arts, mathematics, social studies, science, Bible, music, art, physical education, computer and Spanish.
Sheila Debus is principal.

Last modified on Friday, 20 July 2012 15:32